Science of life

Ayurveda (Science of life) is the traditional medicine and natural healing system of India and its cultural sphere. Its foundation comes from the Vedic Era, the primitive age around 5000 years ago. It is appropriate to say that it is the Mother of all Healing Systems. Ayurveda is one of the most comprehensive healing systems in the world, dealing integrally with body, mind and spirit. Ayurveda has classified the body system according to the theory of Tridosha to overcome all ailments by eliminating the basic cause. The basic objective of Ayurveda is to educate people on how to take care of their health by themselves and increase their span of healthy life. One can achieve this goal by monitoring and balancing one’s nutritional diet and life style. Keeping good habits to heal and prevent illness and inadequacy of body functioning. This system is related to the soul, body & mind simultaneously. Psychosomatic theory recognizes that the mind can create illness in the body. 

To Understand the Ayurvedic System, the following fundamental section must be understood in detail:

  1. Five elements (Base of constitution of the universe).
  2. Three doshas-their normal and abnormal stage.
  3. Three types of doshas and their significance.
  4. Diseases caused by individual doshas.
  5. Application of treatment as per symptoms of doshas.
  6. Pathya-Apathya (Precaution and care of diet) (Foods to be taken – Foods to be avoided).
  7. Three types of vitalities and their relation with the human being and the basis of their healing treatment. These are known as qualities of mind (Satva-Rajas-Tamas) and should be considered.
  8. Six tastes-Sweet, salty, bitter, sour, pungent and astringent. These become the cause of different diseases when aggravated.